outdoors · Texas · trails

Burroughs Park/Trail

Tomball, Texas isn’t what I genuinely expected. Though my explorations have only lead me to a tip of the area, I did find a nice place that I would love to continue to visit; and it made a great hike for a novice like myself.

Burroughs Park

IMG_7038

scenic doesn’t even cover it, this place felt like I walked away from the city and into The Shire (*). Now, don’t get me wrong, my hometown has some good parks (a few, but some) though they aren’t as green or as peaceful as this one. And i’m sure there are more out there for me to explore and see… but so far, this one is just the first, and as I dipped my toe (figuratively, they had a sign that said “do not feed the alligator(s), so I didn’t want to intrude.) into the waters, I honestly fell in love with it. IMG_7056

They have a nice catch and release spot, several playgrounds (perfect if I brought my kids with me), a nice small paved area to run at

IMG_7051

and of course, the thing that won my heart, the trials. Now, in all honesty, I haven’t been an outdoor girl, mention bugs and the chances are, I’ll probably run away (far away) from it. But, something about being in the outdoors, away from busy streets, and so many people was really soothing. Gone were my worries of class, I wasn’t caught up in thinking about random things like laundry and dishes, I wasn’t worried about anything other than being able to enjoy all of this and taking pictures and practicing my photography skills (it’s a hobby). In all seriousness, the area was vast and serene (though surprisingly, no spiders). I was in awe with the large trees towering over me, the wind blowing through and being able to hear it, and the only noise was those who were also walking around or your own feet moving about on the trails (along with the occasional bunny or bird moving about). For my first time hiking, it was very peaceful, and very addicting. I fell in love with it, I fell in love with the tranquility and the “what will I find next”, and though it was my first time ever hiking, it was overall a great enjoyment and a great experience.

I can’t wait to come back here again and if you are ever in the area, this place is amazing to go to. Even with kids.

 

Evie

Leave a comment